sudosecure.net

              is anything truly secure…

Storm Worm using a 2 stage attack system

Posted by jeremy on May 6th, 2008

The Storm Authors are starting to experiment with new and creative ways to ensure we can't track them easily with their latest variant released earlier today. This recent change is actually fairly simple, but at the same time fairly affective in that only the stage one binary "load.php" (Storm's Trojan Downloader) can grab the second stage binary "load2.php", which is the actual Storm Worm binary. They do this by filtering on User Agents. The Storm Trojan downloader's User Agent is "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1921)". Notice the "SV1921" portion as it seems to be the only unique portion that separates this User Agent from the normal Internet Explorer 6 User Agent. To be more specific, the actual Storm Worm binary can only be downloaded with an application using "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1921)" as it's User Agent at this time. I tried several other common IE User Agents, and multiple comibations/variants of the Storm Trojan Downloader User Agent and was unsuccessful at retrieving the binary. With that information I think it would be safe to create a Snort IDS signature looking just for this specific User Agent. I have submitted my finding over to Matt Jonkman at Emerging Threats to get his expert opinion on this. My suggestion would be an update of sid:2008077 to look like this:

alert tcp $HOME_NET any -> $EXTERNAL_NET $HTTP_PORTS (msg:"ET CURRENT_EVENTS Possible Storm Worm EXE Request (Trojan Downloader User Agent)"; flow:established,to_server; content:"|0d 0a|User-Agent\: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible\; MSIE 6.0\; Windows NT 5.1\; SV1921)|0d 0a|"; classtype:trojan-activity; reference:url,www.sudosecure.net/archives/67; sid:2008077; rev:6;)

During the analysis of this variant I also discovered a new Storm Worm Fast Flux domain name: "polkerdesign.cn". The other domain names I was tracking: "apartment-mall.cn, stateandfed.cn, centerprop.cn, and phillipsdminc.cn" have all been shut down, which is good news.

It also looks like Antivirus companies are still behind in getting good signatures out to detect these new variants. My VirusTotal results for "load.php" (38.71%) and my VirusTotal results for "load2.php" (35.48%). In closing, here is a fresh list of the 908 peering IP addresses I extracted from the configuration file "herjek.config": herjek_peers.

As always if you have any questions or comments feel free to contact me.

UPDATE: There was a typo in my initial post leaving out the "Windows NT 5.1" portion, I have corrected this inline, thanks to Levi of his comments.

9 Responses to “Storm Worm using a 2 stage attack system”

  1. Matt Jonkman Says:

    Great catch Jeremy! I’ve actually put this in as a new sig to preserve the previous. New sid is 2008193.

  2. Levi Says:

    I noticed that the User-agent string mentioned in this posting, Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; SV1921), doesn’t match the Snort rule Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1921). The difference is the ‘Windows NT 5.1′ part.

  3. jeremy Says:

    Levi your right. This was a mistake on my part and the Snort rule is correct in that you must have “Windows NT 5.1″ in the UA to download the binary. I will correct it in my post, sorry for the confusion as I was a victim of a bad copy and paste.

  4. jon Says:

    i havin a problem geting a sample of the new load2.php in malzilla

    please help

  5. jeremy Says:

    Did you set the User-Agent to “Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1921)”? I am not real sure how I can help without more information about your issue.

  6. Mark Says:

    LIVE STORM Domain Names
    cadeaux-avenue.cn
    polkerdesign.cn
    tellicolakerealty.cn

    RECENT BUT DEAD
    apartment-mall.cn
    biggetonething.cn
    gasperoblue.cn
    giftapplys.cn
    gribontruck.cn
    ibank-halifax.com
    limpodrift.cn
    loveinlive.cn
    newoneforyou.cn
    normocock.cn
    orthelike.com
    supersameas.com
    thingforyoutoo.cn

  7. jeremy Says:

    Thanks Mark! I was not aware of cadeaux-avenue.cn and tellicolakerealty.cn.

  8. Mark Says:

    The A records were removed from the above sites today.
    The registrar at 厦门华商盛世网络有限公司 has taken action on them.

  9. jeremy Says:

    Thanks again, Mark!

Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>